my makeup may be flaking Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/ Tue, 22 Jan 2019 15:59:40 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Mon, Jan 21, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-21-2019.html <p>AM 4 Taiga hills. Getting closer and closer to sub 3. Also my recovery time is getting shorter. Short workout and low mileage today as I was feeling a little tired. Felt very good on this workout however.&nbsp;<strong>3:08.1</strong>, 2:08, <strong>3:05.5</strong>, 2:07, <strong>3:01.9</strong>, 2:16, <strong>3:00.1</strong></p> Mon, 21 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 20, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-20-2019.html <p>Around Green Lake and Lower Woodland. Feeling very tired and sore.</p> Sun, 20 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 19, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-19-2019.html <p>Went much better than the first XC race in the series. Made a conscious effort to sprint hard the first 100-200m, and it worked as I found myself in the top 20 or so as opposed to in 60th like last time.</p> <p>About 3minutes into the race I made a strong surge and moved into 11th, but as I was doing it my shoe came untied. I spent a lot of the rest of the race worrying about that, especially on the turns. Second time up the hill I moved into 10th but I was starting to hurt and I was thinking about the second race that I had coming up.</p> <p>I finished strong, passing one more person, but I did not empty the tank. Oh and my shoe did end up getting sucked off of my foot in the mud with about 200m to go. In the end I was about 20seconds faster than the last race.</p> <p>Afterwards I went back to my car and chilled a little, Then picked up my bib number for race #2. As I was skipping the weekly tempo run with the club I decided I would enter the magnuson series 15k which started about an hour after my race. As I was warming up I was definitely&nbsp;feeling the first race in my legs.</p> <p>I started out strong 5:52, 5:56, 11:52 (3+4). Then after a 6:02 fifth mile, I slipped and fell pretty hard. It was weird as it wasn&#39;t even on a tight corner. I briefly thought about dropping out as I was passing close to my car, but I decided it wasn&#39;t too bad so I kept going. 6+7 combined were 12:07, which isn&#39;t so bad because it included both the fall and a big hill. But then I only managed a 6:06 for mile 8 and I knew that a good time was out the window. 7:54 (5:58 pace) for the last 1.321.</p> <p>All in all a success as I managed about 6flat pace for the 15k despite everything. I was definitely moving more gingerly round the corners the last 3 miles.</p> Sat, 19 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 18, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-18-2019.html Fri, 18 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 17, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-17-2019.html <p>AM 9</p> <p>PM 2.9</p> Thu, 17 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 16, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-16-2019.html <p>AM 2.9</p> <p>PM 13.6 w/ 5x4min with 2mins off. I ended up moving up to run with the 1a group: Lance Thompson, Gabe Kliot, Spencer Walsh, Dylan Kent, and Pete Hanson. I ended up running 78-79 second pace per 400m.</p> Wed, 16 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 15, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-15-2019.html <p>AM 9</p> <p>PM 4.6</p> Tue, 15 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 14, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-14-2019.html <p>AM 7.5 miles including a short workout at Green Lake Track. A few drills, then 4 by 400 in 78 seconds with 60 seconds rest. Then 4 piano/soapbox hills in 35.3, 35.2, 33.4, 32.2</p> <p>PM 4.6</p> Mon, 14 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 13, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-13-2019.html <p>Greenlake to Magnuson park and back.</p> Sun, 13 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 12, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-12-2019.html <p>AM 17.5 miles including 8 mile tempo run with CNW. The tempo run for Group 2 was supposed to be 3 miles at 6:16, 3 miles at 5:56, then 2 miles at 5:36. I didn&#39;t have a garmin but I think we were very close to hitting the correct pace, based on both Garmins and trail markers. When everyone&#39;s garmins beeped for mile 6 we were at 36:19&nbsp;on my watch. Then (after waiting 3 seconds to get to a marker)&nbsp;I timed an approx two mile effort using marks on the trail. It was 11:19&nbsp;for 2.06 (5:29 pace) and I dropped everyone.&nbsp;The other club members said they thought I was running 5:25 pace or faster based on their watches.&nbsp;I don&#39;t know. This is why I don&#39;t trust GPS. I do know that I ran fast enough that I almost caught up to group 1a. Overall the tempo run was 8.07 miles in 47:41 (5:54 pace). Ran with Chris F, Luke, Garrett, and another guy whose name I should really know by now but don&#39;t.</p> Sat, 12 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 11, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-11-2019.html Fri, 11 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 10, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-10-2019.html Thu, 10 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 09, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-09-2019.html <p>AM 2.9</p> <p>PM 13.7 w/ 3x2400m in 8:17, 8:15, 8:06.</p> <p>We had a big pack today: Chris S, Chris F, Mitch, Garrett, Waqar, Luke, and John C. I led the first one almost entirely. Then Mitch led the second. Chris S decided he wanted to run a little faster on the last one and ran ahead, then John started pushing the pace before I took over. After running around 82-83 the first two reps. I went 82-82-81-81-80-80 for the last one.</p> <p>avg of 5:30 per mile (5:28 per 1600). This pace is starting to feel easy again.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 09 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 08, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-08-2019.html <p>AM 9</p> <p>PM 4.6</p> <p>My right glute is really sore this week for some reason (squats maybe?).</p> Tue, 08 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 07, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-07-2019.html <p>AM some Taiga hill repeats w/ 400m jogging recovery: <strong>3:09.8</strong>, 2:18, <strong>3:05.9</strong>, 2:30, <strong>3:03.9</strong>, 2:29, <strong>3:00.4</strong></p> Mon, 07 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 06, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-06-2019.html <p>CNW sunday run w/ Andy, Carl W, Mitch, Garrett,&nbsp;and Acy</p> Sun, 06 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 05, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-05-2019.html <p>Second road race and third race overall in the series. Made a concerted effort to get out hard and was in the top 20 after 400m as opposed to 60th place like in the XC race. Top pack of about 8 left me in the dust and there was no way I could have gone with them. At about 1km in I moved to the front of the chase pack. A couple of guys stuck with me but not for long.</p> <p>Hit the mile in 5:14, which was kind of surprising as I felt like I was running slower than that. The leaders were probably sub 5 with the closest guy at 5:07. I accelerated and caught him at about the 2k point, but I noticed my feet were slipping a little with each step (maybe mud on my shoes). I tried to scrape it off on the sidewalk while continuing to run, but it turns out that&#39;s not physically possible. However we soon transitioned onto gravel and that seemed to do the trick.</p> <p>Still felt like I was running slower than last time, but the 6th and 7th guys who had been out of sight were coming back to me. Started my kick a little bit too late (because of the turns it kind of sneaks up on you) but still managed about an even split 5:14, 5:15.</p> <p>Jogged home to cooldown.</p> Sat, 05 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 04, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-04-2019.html Fri, 04 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 03, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-03-2019.html Thu, 03 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 02, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-02-2019.html <p>AM 2.9</p> <p>PM 13.9 including 3 by 3200 in (11:16, 11:19, 11:12) with 3.5 mins rest.</p> <p>Approx splits of (5:38, 5:38), (5:41, 5:38) and (5:39, 5:33), suggested split was 5:42, but this didn&#39;t feel very tough. Last 800 of the last rep in 2:42. I led the 1st mile of each rep and Mark Bloudek led the second mile.</p> <p>Nice that mile repeat pace has become 2-mile repeat pace in about 18months.</p> <p>Warmup 400 in 71. Goal for 2019: a warmup 400 in sub 70 (running relaxed).</p> Wed, 02 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 01, 2019 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-01-2019.html <p>My achilles was a little sore so just a small amount of jogging as I was a course monitor at the Club northwest resolution run. Winning time was 14:56! by Michael Eaton, the local hero. Jogged around some more doing course cleanup.</p> Tue, 01 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 31, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-31-2018.html Mon, 31 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 30, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-30-2018.html <p>On the murdock canal trail in pleasant grove. Including 4.54&nbsp;miles in 28:06 (6:11 pace). First half 14:17 (6:18), second half 13:49 (6:05).</p> Sun, 30 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 29, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-29-2018.html Sat, 29 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 28, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-28-2018.html Fri, 28 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 27, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-27-2018.html Thu, 27 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 26, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-26-2018.html Wed, 26 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 25, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-25-2018.html <p>At midnight I drove to downtown seattle to run with some college friends on the empty streets.</p> <p>A few hours later I did my annual time 5k time trial at middle school track. This time trail never seems to be very fast. I think the track may be too soft. Conditions were fine this year, a little cold but I still ran in shorts.</p> <p>KM Splits 3:34, 3:38, 3:40, 3:37, 3:32=18:01</p> <p>1600 splits 5:44, 11:36, 17:21, 39</p> <p>Last year:17:52, 2016:17:54</p> Tue, 25 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 24, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-24-2018.html Mon, 24 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 23, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-23-2018.html <p>Loop of mercer island in 1:23:46. (6:23 pace/6:08 adjusted). Legs felt a little tired, but breathing was easy.</p> <table border="1" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="1" style="width: 500px;"> <tbody> <tr> <td>Segment</td> <td>Distance</td> <td>Time</td> <td>Pace</td> <td>Adjusted Pace</td> </tr> <tr> <td>1</td> <td>3.17</td> <td>20:48</td> <td>6:34</td> <td>6:20</td> </tr> <tr> <td>2</td> <td>3.12</td> <td>19:20</td> <td>6:12</td> <td>6:01</td> </tr> <tr> <td>3</td> <td>2.68</td> <td>17:04</td> <td>6:22</td> <td>6:04</td> </tr> <tr> <td>4</td> <td>1.67</td> <td>11:00</td> <td>6:35</td> <td>6:21</td> </tr> <tr> <td>5</td> <td>2.49</td> <td>15:34</td> <td>6:15</td> <td>6:01</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Total</td> <td>13.13</td> <td>1:23:46</td> <td>6:23</td> <td>6:08</td> </tr> </tbody> </table> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 23 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 22, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-22-2018.html <p>AM 16 including 8 miles tempo with CNW.</p> <p>There&#39;s a big drop-off in turnout to club workouts after club xc it seems.</p> <p>The workout for group 1/1a was 7 miles at 5:50 to 6 flat follow by 1 mile at 5:30. Although, I know that&#39;s a workout I can do I was worried that 1) The fast guys would all decide to run faster because they definitely can and 2)My recent tempo runs haven&#39;t been as good recently. Therefore I decided to drop down to the 2/2a workout which was 6:12-6:15 followed by 5:50.</p> <p>The thing is everyone else in my group decided to do 6 tempo and 1 hard. This ended up working out perfectly for me as I did 6+1+1. It ended up being a progression run going from 6:20 to 6:10 the first 6. Then I ran a 5:35 with the group as they all finished, but I kept rolling. I then ran a 5:37 by myself with a 180degree turn, which everyone assured me was really more like a 5:34 without the turn around. Ended up being 49:04 for 8.1 (6:03 pace). Didn&#39;t feel very hard.</p> Sat, 22 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 21, 2018 http://fiddy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-21-2018.html <p>AM 9 niles to work. Last two days have been better blood pressure wise. Real test will be tomorrow at the morning workout.</p> Fri, 21 Dec 2018 07:00:00